How Much Does a Utah Fishing License Cost?

While preparing for the upcoming fishing season in Utah, I needed to make sure that I had a valid fishing license for my fishing adventures. I wasn’t sure how much they were or where to buy one. So I did some research on fishing licenses in Utah and here is what I found.

So, how much does a Utah fishing license really cost? Like most other states, Utah offers different price points, discounts and packages to help each individual needs. On average a Utah fishing license costs around $34 dollars, depending on the length and residency status.

The different types of fishing licenses offered provides anglers with varying price options and flexibility to fit their individual needs and allows the state to monitor and enforce fishing regulations to better the fisheries in Utah.

For more information about the cost of each license, where to find and buy your license, and the different fishing regulations in Utah please continue reading below.

Fishing License Cost in Utah

In Utah there are a variety of different packages and saving opportunities offered to help the needs of everyone. Utah offers discount licenses to youth, seniors, disabled veterans and others as well.

Here is a list of all the Utah fishing licenses and how much they cost for both residents and non-residents.

Cost of Fishing Licenses in Utah

Fishing License TypeResidentNon-Resident
1-year fishing (age 12–13)$5.00$5.00
1-year fishing (age 14–17)$16.00$25.00
1-year fishing (age 18+)$34.00$75.00
Multi-year licenses$33 per year (up to five years)$74 per year (up to five years)
Year fishing (age 65+)$25.00
Disabled veterans 1-year$12.00
3-day fishing$16.00$24.00
7-day fishing$20.00$40.00
Set-line (valid only when used with current fishing license)$20.00$20.00

If you are planning on hunting and fishing in the same season you should consider purchasing the combination license and save yourself some money. See details about these below.

Combination License (Fishing & Hunting)
License TypeResidentNon-Resident
1-year combination (14–17)$20.00$29.00
1-year combination (18–64)$38.00$85.00
1-year combination (65+)$29.00


It’s extremely important to understand and stay up with the regulations and rules. You can find this information as well as more details at the Utah Division of Wildlife Services Website.

Where Can You Purchase Your Utah Fishing License?

Now days its super easy to buy a fishing license. You can purchase a Utah fishing license online, at an authorized retail store or by the phone. These options make it super convenient and helpful.

To find more information about these different options visit the following pages below.

Note: if you buy your fishing license over the phone there is a $2.00 fee.

Utah Fishing Regulations

In the state of Utah there are many regulations, rules and laws when it comes to fishing. There are a lot of things outside of just buying a fishing license that you need understand and be aware of. Here are some general Utah Fishing guidelines.

General Fishing Regulations

Fishing in any body of water, whether it be a river, stream, pond, lake or reservoir requires a fishing license in the state of Utah. Any person 12 years of age or older must have a valid fishing license to be able to fish in Utah.

In Utah if you have a valid fishing license or are under the age of 12 you are allowed to fish with two poles at any water in the state. However, the extra pole still doesn’t change the limit of fish you can keep.

Free Fishing Day is a great event in Utah that gives everyone the chances to enjoy the outdoors and do some fishing. Free Fishing Day will be held on June 6, 2020. This is an annual event and a great opportunity to share fishing with others.

Utah also allows you to keep your fishing license on your phone or tablet on their app. This makes it super convenient to carry your license around and the app will even remind you when your license is about to expire.

A digital copy is just as valid as a paper license. This app is available for both Apple and Android devices. You can download the app here:

In Utah it’s illegal to transport and release live fish as this can have serious adverse effects on fish populations and fishing.

You can legally use and fish with corn at any waterbody in Utah where bait is permitted. It is also legal in all of the surrounding states. Recent studies have found that corn doesn’t’ have harmful effects on fish. However, make sure to still follow Utah’s laws that regulate chumming.

Utah has a program called WIA (walk-in access) where landowners have leased their property to the Utah Wildlife Management allowing hunters and fishermen access to be able to hunt and fish. Find out more information about this program here.

If you have any other question or concerns about the rules and regulations of fishing in Utah, please make sure to check out the Utah’s online guidebook at:

Fish to Catch in Utah

Here is a list of the most popular game fish that are legal to catch in Utah incase you are wondering what kind of fish you can target.

Popular Game Fish to Target in Utah
  • Rainbow Trout
  • Cutthroat Trout
    • Bonneville Cutthroat
    • Colorado River Cutthroat
    • Yellowstone Cutthroat
    • Bear Lake Cutthroat
  • Brook Trout
  • Lake Trout
  • Golden Trout
  • Arctic Grayling
  • Brown Trout
  • Splake
  • Tiger Trout
  • Kokanee Salmon
  • Walleye
  • Yellow Perch
  • Striped Bass
  • Smallmouth Bass
  • Largemouth Bass
  • White Bass
  • Bullhead
  • Channel Catfish
  • Black Crappie
  • White Crappie
  • Green Sunfish
  • Northern Pike
  • Bluegill
  • Wiper
  • Tiger Muskellunge
Fish That Are Protected in Utah
  • Bonytail
  • Bluehead sucker
  • Colorado pike minnow (formerly, Colorado squawfish)
  • Flannelmouth sucker
  • Gizzard shad (except at Lake Powell, where you may possess dead shad and use them as bait)
  • Grass carp
  • Humpback chub
  • June sucker
  • Least chub
  • Northern leatherside chub
  • Razorback sucker
  • Roundtail chub
  • Southern leatherside chub
  • Virgin chub
  • Virgin spinedace
  • Woundfin

Utah Fishing Tips

Related Questions

Is Corn legal to fish with in Utah?

Yes, you can legally use and fish with corn at any waterbody in Utah where bait is permitted. It is also legal in all of the surrounding states. Recent studies have found that doesn’t’ have harmful effects on fish. However, make sure to still follow Utah’s laws that regulate chumming.

Do you need a fishing license to catch crawdads in Utah?

If you’re 12 years of age or older, you must have a valid Utah fishing license to be able to fish for crayfish. However, if you’re under the age of 12, you do not need a license to fish for crayfish.

Can you fish with two rods in Utah?

In the state of Utah anglers can fish with two poles at any water in the state with a valid fishing license. However, this doesn’t change the daily limit of fish that you can keep.

Aaron Warner

Aaron Warner is an avid angler with over 15 years of experience. He has participated and won fishing tournaments all over the country and enjoys fishing for bass, trout, walleye and other species.

Recent Posts